Find Happiness at Work

Posted: December 17, 2010 in Psychology
Tags:




Continuing the preview of my coming psychology site, this second sample article is about personal development.

Your time at work can be a source of happiness or misery. It’s your choice. It’s your mind perceiving your work day as good or bad. I’ve learned and unlearned this lesson several times myself. I’ve managed to be happy with every job I’ve had. I’ve also come to see this as being complacent with where I am when it doesn’t help with my life goals. Then I become miserable at work.

How to Be Happy at Work

Focus on the present. What are you doing right now? Do you already know how to do the current task? Either you are already good or you’re improving with practice. If there are no problems with what you’re doing right now, it’s a happy moment. If there are problems, you will work through them and reach a problem-free space. Even when it’s not going well, stay in the present and find a solution. Problem solving is a positive event. This is part of your life. Live it. Enjoy it. There’s no reason not to enjoy every moment.

How to Be Miserable at Work

Focus on the past and the future. You may know from past experiences that this job has qualities that haven’t worked for you. You can also see how this job isn’t helping you fulfill your goals. It isn’t giving you the skills you need for what you really want to be doing. It isn’t paying enough money to let you save for training or fund your own business. Some, maybe all, of the tasks you must do as part of the job put you in a bad mood. Complain about everything and you will be miserable all the time.

Why You Choose to Be Miserable

You decide to be unhappy at work because you don’t want to settle in to a job that isn’t working for you. You fear that if you allow your job to become part of who you are now it will be who you are in the future. If you hate your job and everything about it, you will stay motivated to move on. Heavy negativity will not help you work toward your life goals, but it will help you leave your current job.

How to Be Happy at Work and Pursue Your Dreams

Your work and your personal life happen at different times. You can be happy at work when you focus on the present. You can pursue your dreams during your personal life. Then you will also be happy when you focus on the present outside of working hours. Your work doesn’t need to interfere with your goals.

I worked in a french fry plant at one time. The job did not relate to my life goals in any way. Sometimes I was happy there and sometimes miserable. Toward the end of my time at that job, my time at home was spent learning computers. Learning to write computer programs fit in with my writing goal. It was a weird kind of writing, but it was writing. I studied and applied enough computer books that my next job was in a software company. As a software tester, I did more writing than any other job I ever had. Eventually my skills became too well known and I had to leave because the hours expanded into my personal life, but these things happen.

My current job doesn’t have as much writing, but I can be happy with it anyway. I focus on the present. Some parts of the job use skills that will be useful for my entrepreneur life goal. Most of the job doesn’t apply to my goals at all. That doesn’t matter. I study and write when I am not at work.

Separate your work and personal life and you will be happy at work. Think about your job when you are on the job. Think about, and work toward, your goals when you are not on the job.

This works for any kind of job. Is your job high stress? One of the keys to reducing stress caused by your job is not thinking about the job outside of working hours. By concentrating on your life goals, you will succeed.



Article text copyright 2010 David Arthur Smith. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

